RSS

Barrio Bread.

27 Aug
BARRIOBREAD2

Spelt wheat levain

 

Last Saturday morning, we drove to Tucson to pick up some Barrio Bread. The night before, I placed an order on the website for a pain d’epi and baguette, through e-mail and I was informed that there may be extra loaves for sale if I get to the pick-up location early enough. When we arrived, there was already a long queue with people waiting to grab their orders as well. I was really glad that I was also able to buy a spelt wheat levain.

Don Guerra is an artisan baker and owner of Barrio Bread, a CSB (community supported bakery). People can sign up to be part of the CSA and place their orders on the Barrio Bread website on certain days and pick up their bread orders at specific locations in Tucson. I was able to order bread without a CSA membership because Don also has an option of just ordering and picking up on Saturdays.

Don uses old European-style techniques to make bread with wild yeast to leaven, Arizona grown and milled wheat, and no sugar or oils. Not only is done an excellent baker, but he was really friendly and helpful in the e-mails that he sent. Both the pain d’epi and spelt wheat levain were some of the best breads I’ve had in a long time. I couldn’t stop pulling off pieces of the epi because it was just so good. I’m hoping to try the other varieties of breads Don makes before we move out of Arizona. Barrio Bread is also featured in the upcoming documentary called Rise of the Grains.

photo 115

Pain d’epi crumb

KJE_1853

Pain d’epi, with a piece already eaten…

 

In other news, I think D and I are trying to gear up mentally for the drive to Georgia. Our cat, Amelie, did well on our drive to Arizona from Colorado so we’re hoping this trip will go just as well. Though it will be a longer drive! I’ve been doing more research on places to buy good food where we’ll be in Georgia and so far, it’s not looking bad. The true test will be when we finally get there, of course. I’m looking forward to being at sea level again after Colorado and Arizona, but I’ll miss living near mountains and around big sky.

AZ

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Tuesday 27 August 2013 in a day in the life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,562 other followers

