RSS

My Photo of the Day: Corn Chowder.

16 Aug

KJE_1503

I think I’ve purchased my last few ears of corn for the summer because there’s really only so much corn that we eat anyway. Since the kernels were so sweet, I was going to make bacon and corn fritters with basil aïoli, but decided on a dairy-free corn chowder instead. It took a bit of time because I made corn cob broth for the base as well as coconut milk and cashew cream

I also ended up roasting the potatoes and carrots, before adding them to the chowder, because both taste great roasted. If you’ve never made corn chowder before, I think it’s worth doing at least once! I found a good recipe on Saveur, but I didn’t use bacon or dairy and I excluded celery because I didn’t have any. Also I used ghee instead of butter and added a little saffron, New Mexico chile powder, a blend of toasted cumin, coriander, turmeric, caraway, and fenugreek along with salt and pepper. For texture, I blended half of the chowder (excluding the carrots) and I topped our bowls with pieces of poached cod, basil, and crispy shallots.

The dairy wasn’t missed at all since the coconut milk and cashew cream added the same richness. This chowder was wonderfully savory, sweet, with a touch of spice and my husband and I really enjoyed it. For me it’s always worth trying to make as much from scratch as I can. The difference in flavor is undeniable. Now that I think about it, maybe I’ll make those fritters after all – if I’m able to get more corn!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on Friday 16 August 2013 in a day in the life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “My Photo of the Day: Corn Chowder.

  1. Tammy

    Saturday 17 August 2013 at 13:45

    Gorgeous!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,576 other followers

