RSS

Hemp Milk.

16 Jun

KJE_0972

Hemp milk has been something I’ve been curious about and I wanted to make some of my own. I’ve been taking a break from making cashew, almond, and coconut milk so it was a good time to try it. 

While it’s not my favorite non-dairy milk, it’s not too bad. It’s a lot earthier tasting than I prefer, but again it’s not terrible. I think it would be great mixed with coconut milk, though, so I’ll give that a go soon. It definitely is the easiest non-dairy milk to make because there’s no soaking involved and there’s minimal straining at the end.

Hemp Milk

1 cup organic hemp hearts (hemp seeds)

4-5 cups of water

1 teaspoon vanilla extra, vanilla bean paste, or ground vanilla bean

Large clean bowl with fine mesh strainer on top

Optional: Sweetener of choice

1. Place hemp hearts, water, vanilla extract, and sweetener (if using) in blender.

2. Blend on high for a few minutes.

3. Pour over strainer, cover, and chill.

There will still be some particles of hemp hearts, so you may want to strain it again if that bothers you. I didn’t mind it, though.

KJE_0985

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Sunday 16 June 2013 in a day in the life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,576 other followers

