RSS

Vanilla Bean Almond Milk.

24 Apr

KJE_0009

When I make almond milk each week, I tend to just blend the soaked almonds (right photo above) with a few dates and strain the mixture through a nut bag to get the milk. I buy the almonds that I use from Massa Organics. One bag lasts me about 4 weeks or so, unless I make a double batch of almond milk one week.

KJE_0016

Recently, I decided to peel the skin off of each almond after they had soaked overnight. I know that blanching the almonds would have probably been easier to slip the skins off, but it actually wasn’t too bad. It took a little time, but I was left with pretty skinless almonds in the end.

The basic recipe I use for making almond milk is here. This time I added a whole vanilla bean and four dates.

KJE_0023

After the vanilla bean almond milk had chilled a bit, I got two small glasses and decided to taste it as is and another one with some bittersweet chocolate sauce. I enjoyed both a lot and I think I’ll continue to make the vanilla bean one because the flavor is so subtle but nice.

SHAKE

The next day, I made a chocolate shake with one frozen banana, half a small ripe avocado, vanilla bean almond milk, and bittersweet chocolate sauce. I won’t say it tastes exactly like a shake made with regular chocolate ice cream, but this was creamy and very delicious. It also completely satisfied my craving for a shake!

KJE_0052

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Wednesday 24 April 2013 in a day in the life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,562 other followers

