RSS

My Photo of the Day: Miso Bone Broth and Company.

27 Nov

I haven’t had a proper rice cooker in some time because the one I inherited from my parents, finally stopped working. I’ve been wanting a Zojirushi for a while and I’m so glad that we were finally able to get one! I usually buy my brown rice from Massa Organics, but I wanted to try organic heirloom Kokuho Rose® Japanese rice from Koda Farms. I also got some of their organic brown rice and organic heirloom 11 grain blend (heirloom brown rice, barley, kamut, spelt, rye berries, millet, buckwheat, oat berries, red rice, basmati rice, and whole flax). Both the Japanese style and brown rice are excellent and I’m looking forward to cooking the 11 grain blend soon.

Even though our Thanksgiving turkey was lovely, I was most excited to use the bones for stock. This is the time of year when I feel like I need to keep our healthy eating in check because of the colds and flus floating around. Basically the turkey stock I make is simliar to the chicken feet stock that I love to have on hand. All that good gelatin is visible when the stock is chilled, which is excellent. Along with a bit of exercise, I’ve been eating even more whole foods, miso, garlic, and broth than usual in hopes that I keep my immune system strong. I’m plotting on making some pho and sop buntut as well. Knocking so hard on wood that we don’t get sick before our upcoming move to Arizona!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Tuesday 27 November 2012 in a day in the life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,573 other followers

