RSS

Especially good for Sunday cravings.

07 Oct

Living in Wiesbaden, I’m really glad that the shops are closed on Sundays. It’s a good change to be able to walk downtown and just window shop and not feel the hustle and bustle of people trying to buy stuff. It’s relaxing and at least most of the restaurants and cafés are open anyway. Knowing that I would be craving some good chocolate on Sunday, I decided to go to Xocoatl, my fave chocolate shop (I wrote about it here and here). My sisters both loved the organic Rococo milk chocolate with sea salt bar, so I decided to buy one of those. I’m not partial to milk chocolate, but my curiosity took the better of me.

OK, I really think it tastes super! The saltiness of the sea salt really makes the lovely milk chocolate shine without being too sweet. What an odd combination, but then again I love the butter caramel-sea salt with dark chocolate combination. Would definitely buy it again… but there are so many other chocolates that I need to try! ;)

rococo-wrapperseasaltmilkchoco.jpg

remember to click on the photos to see a larger view!

dscn0908-b.jpg

On a side note, at the Saturday farmers market Mr.E and I made a wonderful discovery. There is a small stand where a farmer sells his homemade breads and cakes. For some ridiculous unknown reason, I always pass him by. Even though his offerings always look so wonderful.
Yesterday, we stopped right before heading home and decided to buy a slice of his cheesecake. The only reason that happened was because he was pretty much out of everything else that I had my eye on!! I’m not a big fan of cheesecake but this one completely changed my mind. It was rich and decadent, but also so wonderfully smooth and perfumed with vanilla. The cake layer on the bottom was not like the usual German firm butter biscuit, instead it was crumbly and soft. Oh let me tell you, the top was baked so perfectly brown that I tasted the most subtle caramel-like flavor. It was the cheesecake that I’ve always dreamed of. Perfect, just enough fresh cheese flavor without feeling like I’m eating a block of Philadelphia (give me a toasted bagel for that!). Plus most cheesecakes that I’ve tried here have an unappetizing gelatinous texture. Next time, I’ll definitely buy a loaf of his superb looking bread and perhaps another slice of cake! I’ll also remember to take a photo or two.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on Sunday 7 October 2007 in chocolate, Germany, organic, shop, Wiesbaden, Xocoatl

 

One response to “Especially good for Sunday cravings.

  1. delicieux

    Monday 22 October 2007 at 06:40

    Mmmmmm you have me craving cheesecake now. I haven’t had cheesecake in years. The one you had sounds divine!!!

    I know what you mean about some cheesecakes making you feel like you are eating a block of Philadelphia. I think that’s why I haven’t had one in years because most of the ones I have had reminded me of that….

    Must google for some cheesecake recipes….

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,576 other followers

